Quantcast

CLX: power cables

MartinLogan Owners (MLO)

Help Support MartinLogan Owners (MLO):

BDH55

Well-known member
MLO Supporter
Joined
Jul 31, 2020
Messages
142
Reaction score
71
Location
Ohio
Did not run $40/ft wire but did wire 2 dedicated duplexes with 10ga Romex home runs to 2 dedicated breakers in the master panel with attention paid to their being wired in-phase. I too noticed a significant improvement in system sound quality doing this.
I'm feeling really lame as I had never even heard of Oyaide cable before this thread, and while I did run two dedicated circuits off the same phase, I only used 12 ga Romex...
 

GW1800

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
308
Reaction score
11
Location
WI
Romex is romex. Not great copper, not shielded and most likely side by side wires. Going to 10 ga. Is better then nothing. When I get home I will send info on Oyaide wire.
 

GW1800

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
308
Reaction score
11
Location
WI

BigGuy

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
96
Reaction score
21
Location
Connecticut
Here is some info on this wire. It comes in 10 or 12 ga. metric versions. Also there is version 2 out now but the web site does not mention it. Not sure what has improved but some tweaking must of happened to call it V2.

https://www.lotusgroupusa.com/uploads/2/6/4/9/26498389/102ssc_press_release_information_eng.pdf
EE / F-S 2.6 |電線・ケーブル・オーディオ・専門店 小柳出電気商会(オヤイデ、oyaide)
Thanks for the links. Searched on EE/F-S2.6 but only vendor I found was on Ebay in Japan selling 1 meter for $101.00.
Is there a source in the United States?
 

GW1800

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
308
Reaction score
11
Location
WI
Use this address to contact Ed. He has a supply of this cable in the US. Note the hyphen (-) between audio and ultra: edward@audio-ultra.com

again I highly recommend this cable but don’t forget proper grounding, upgraded duplex and good power panel practices.

Good Luck you will wonder why you either never thought of this or did it before!!
 

GW1800

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 3, 2011
Messages
308
Reaction score
11
Location
WI
Any serious interest in installing the Oyaide wire? Just curious
 

BigGuy

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
96
Reaction score
21
Location
Connecticut
Any serious interest in installing the Oyaide wire? Just curious
May consider as part of electrical work needed on master panel to accommodate a whole house generator but would have to convince my SIL electrician not to be me to death with it! 😨
 

Robert D

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 21, 2020
Messages
566
Reaction score
96
May consider as part of electrical work needed on master panel to accommodate a whole house generator but would have to convince my SIL electrician not to be me to death with it! 😨
More and more folks now putting in whole home generators. I know if I lived in Texas or California I would be. Is your's going to run off of natural gas (methane)? I wonder too if the flow of methane can be interrupted like that of electricity, as in cases like what happened in Texas recently? I dont think Texas had problems with natural gas, just electricity. Maybe a buried propane tank would be more reliable? Ive never had natural gas flow interrupted before though.
 

JonFo

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
4,198
Reaction score
95
Location
Big Canoe, GA
WTF??? It's 2021!! What's happening in Texas and California?
The isolated Texas grid got hit with a super-cold weather blast for multiple days, and a cascade of issues due to non-weatherized infrastructure nearly took down the whole grid. Even though Texas has tons of natural gas, the gas pipes and pumps froze, so NG-fired generators stalled and went offline.
Homes are not built for continual sub-zero C weather, so without (and some with) power, pipes froze and burst.

I have a propane-fueled 10Kwh whole home generator (21 years old) that I'm going to replace with a Tesla power-wall system + rooftop solar. Cross connected to a Tesla charger and vehicle (with a 90Kw battery) in the garage, I figure I can probably run the household for a week or more. Just use gas or hybrid car for errands.

From an audio perspective, I'll be able to now power the B panel so I can run the home theater rig while on backup power. The current generator only powers the A panel, which has all the critical loads attached to it. Each panel is fed 200A from the street. Since the B panel has no fridges or other 'noisy' loads, the HT rig gets cleaner power, which then gets converted to technical / balanced power for the A/V components via a 5KVA toroidal transformer.
 

BigGuy

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 21, 2011
Messages
96
Reaction score
21
Location
Connecticut
More and more folks now putting in whole home generators. I know if I lived in Texas or California I would be. Is your's going to run off of natural gas (methane)? I wonder too if the flow of methane can be interrupted like that of electricity, as in cases like what happened in Texas recently? I dont think Texas had problems with natural gas, just electricity. Maybe a buried propane tank would be more reliable? Ive never had natural gas flow interrupted before though.
We have Natural Gas in the 'hood but I do not want to destroy 40 years of landscaping to connect the house. Excavation in yard near impossible due to stone ledge so going with 2 x 125gal above ground LP tanks.

FWIW, I was number 1400+/- in line for a 20kW whole house generator... :( but will be here in March?!
 

Brad225

Well-known member
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
1,710
Reaction score
47
Location
Wesley Chapel, Fl
The board that controls most of the power grid in Texas made a calculated decision to not winterize the Turbines, and Gas power generation. Everything froze.
Parts of eastern Texas that are not part of it were winterized and were fine.

Many of the burst pipes as I understand were required fire suppression systems in homes that were in the attic and not insulated.
 
Top