Clipping Comparison

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Greg_A

Clipping is a disaster for "normal" tweeters but what is the impact from clipping to the M/L Summits?

Is it the same or more forgiving?

Somewhere along the path... blown tweeters have occurred or may have occurred from clipping but now that I have the Summits... Is the impact from Clipping the same as a conventional tweeter?

Thanks

I'm no engineer, but in an earlier tread someone claimed that M/L's could not be overdriven because the signal power is converted to charge the strator panels and their is a built in safety.

I think any excessive clipping could blow the conventional bass/woofer drivers, not sure about the panels, don't think it could be good for the electronics though.

Clean power is a requirement not just a suggestion. These speakers will reveal all flaws further up the signal chain - they are that good.

ML's Can't Be Over-Driven...

Greg_A said:
Clipping is a disaster for "normal" tweeters but what is the impact from clipping to the M/L Summits?

Is it the same or more forgiving?

Somewhere along the path... blown tweeters have occurred or may have occurred from clipping but now that I have the Summits... Is the impact from Clipping the same as a conventional tweeter?

Thanks
Greg,

:D Welcome to the ML Club!
I'm glad you asked this good question... :) But the ansewer is, No..., ML's can't be over-driven. kach22i, is quite correct, I started a thread a while back discussing this very topic:

http://www.martinloganowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1716&highlight=driven

ML speakers are soooo wonderful and state-of-the-art they can not be blown by clipping. If they ever have a problem, along this line, ML wants to know about it immediately, as it would be a first... ;)