Center Upgrade

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

codesx100

Reaction score
Hey guys so I am thinking about upgrading my center channel again but I need some opinions. Right now I've been using ESL-C for about 8 months. It's been pretty good but tends to have a "box" sounding effect. Nothing is wrong with the speaker electronics wise, just it doesn't sound as good as my other speakers. Not sure if it's because of the design or maybe I need to get it on a separate amp and not my receiver.

My question is if I do need to upgrade I can either get the Focus or I know a few places that still have some Stage Xs new just wondering what some people's experiences have been with each. As I plan to upgrade next year.

When I had a glass shelf a/v stand (low and wide) the center speaker, a Polk CSi5, was on top. It sounded boxy until I raised it up a few inches and brought it all the way out to the edge of the glass. This minimized the "box" sound.

I now have a Motif mounted on the wall, no a/v stand between the L&R speakers, amp on the floor. When I experimented with center speaker placement possibilities I found that being in free airspace was the best sound. I only mounted it on the wall, with the "wall switch" set to on-wall, after I decided to relocate the a/v stand elsewhere and heard no negative qualities from the mounted center.

Interesting, I have it on a glass AV stand like you did. I definitely should try raising it and see if that sound goes away.

When I had a glass shelf a/v stand (low and wide) the center speaker, a Polk CSi5, was on top. It sounded boxy until I raised it up a few inches and brought it all the way out to the edge of the glass. This minimized the "box" sound.