Center Speaker Choice for Motion 10: Mix and/or Match?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RMOP

Reaction score
I'm new to both ML and to Home Theatre. I've just hooked up the parts of my system that have arrived, along with one "piece of junk" from years ago. This is the first time in years I've been in a location and position to begin assembling a sound system again.

Here's what I have:

Yamaha RX-V567 Multi-voltage "General Model" A/V Receiver
One Pair of ML Motion 10s
On Order: Polk DSWPro 440wi Sub (because ML doesn't MAKE a multi-voltage sub)
Cambridge Soundworks temporary Center Channel speaker (I know, but it is 4-ohms and available!)
Rear speakers, to be ordered, but probably not for a few months.

I suppose someone will ask: "What are you feeding INTO the receiver?" Fair question. This:

1) DVDs and BDs (i.e., movies, a disproportionate number of which are musicals and dramas)
2) CD's (secondary use)
3) Very nice old Technics turntable for mint vinyl jazz collection (tertiary use)

The next logical question is: "Who's listening to this system?"

1) A family of vocalists each with instrumental backgrounds
2) Our dog and cat

I'm looking at both the ML Encore TF and the Motion 6 Center Channel speakers.

There's presently a $50-100 difference in favor of the Encore. I'm more interested in how the system sounds and (secondarily) looks. I'm not a purist, so I'm not opposed in principle to mixing either brands (I'm doing that out of necessity with the Polk sub) and/or models within a brand.