Building Home Theater, decided L/R ML Source but what for in-wall surround

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jouyang

Reaction score
Hi All,

Let me just say this first, I am a speaker noob. I am currently building a 12Wx17Lx8H room for home theater. There's a 12Wx6L storage room next to the home theater. I can basically push my equipments inside that room so the TV and projector screen can be flashed with the wall. I currently have a 10yr old Klipsch Synergy SF-2 5.1 setup but wanted to upgrade to a better system. I have my "eyes" on Martin Logan Source and they "look" good. I've heard them from Fry's and it's actually pretty good.

Since the 12 feet width is not much room so I wanted to use in-wall speakers for surround. Can anyone recommand some matching surround for Martin Logan Source? What should be the height of in-wall speakers? Also, I am planning to get Onkyo 1008 receiver. Is that good enough to drive the speakers? The only reason why I pick 1008 because it got 2 HDMI output(one for TV and other one for Projector). If the 1008 is not good enough, what would you recommend?

Here's the layout of the floor plan.

___________d__
|....................|
|6' storage.......|
|___._R_______| R: receiver and other devices
|......TV/P......S| TV/P: TV / Projector screen
|.L...............R.| L/R: Left/Right Speakers
|....................| S: Sub
|....................|
|....................|
|x.................x| x: in-wall surround
|....................| P: Projector
|.........P.........| d: door
_w__x_____x__d w: window

thanks in advance,
~joy

Last edited:
I've installed logan passage inwall ( for surround) last week.
They really sound great.