Quantcast

Best Vacuum For Stat Cleaning???

MartinLogan Owners (MLO)

Help Support MartinLogan Owners (MLO):

Dominick22

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
281
Reaction score
0
Location
Columbus, Ohio
I just returned from a 12 day vacation and figured this would be a good time to vacuum my Ascent i's and clarity's since they have been disconnected while gone.

I dont have any good vacuuming tools so I was wondering if anyone could suggest a product?? Obviously, I am looking for a good adapting tool and high suction.

Experiance stories wanted!

Thanks,
Dominick
 

Kruppy

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 2, 2005
Messages
822
Reaction score
0
Location
Rochester, Michigan
I use a Rigid Shop Vac with the circular brush attachment. I only use that specific attachment for my SL3 panels. Seems to work fine and yes there was a noticable improvement in my case.

Not that I've done it, but I would think that you would not want to get high powered vacuum too close to the panel for fear of potential damage.
 

attyonline

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
350
Reaction score
1
You should check with the guys at ML first, but I was told no vacuum could damage the mylar panels. They are quite strong.
 

twich54

Forum Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
6,590
Reaction score
24
Location
SE Pa
FWIW, since I am new to M/L (as of last Dec) this vacuming thing has been somewhat of a learning curve. I have discovered that the use of a Horsehair vacum brush in itself does not create the static electricity that a synthetic haired brush does.
 

Dominick22

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 19, 2005
Messages
281
Reaction score
0
Location
Columbus, Ohio
horsehair attatchment? Where did you find that and what exact vacuum are you using?

Dominick
 

twich54

Forum Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
6,590
Reaction score
24
Location
SE Pa
Dominick22 said:
horsehair attatchment? Where did you find that and what exact vacuum are you using?

Dominick

Any decent Vacum Repair / sales store should sell them, picked mine up for $5 one dollar more that a synthetic brush. It is the size that fits the attachment wand on your upright, in my case I use it with a small 2 gal shop-vac.
 

JonFo

Super Moderator
Moderator
Joined
Jan 16, 2005
Messages
4,148
Reaction score
50
Location
Big Canoe, GA
Dyson

I really like the Dyson vacs. They really suck ;)

Seriously, they get the crud off the panels pronto.
 

Joey_V

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
4,379
Reaction score
0
Location
Dallas, TX
Dave,

You vacuum your Vantages now? Arent yours just about as old as my Summits? Maybe I need to start vacumming too.... :( .
 

SugarMedia

Well-known member
Joined
Feb 11, 2005
Messages
733
Reaction score
0
Location
EU
I have a Rainbow E2 vacuum cleaner and it does a great job, not to mention the feature which allows me to also use it as an air-purifer throughout the day when I'm not home. http://www.rainbowsystem.com/eng/product.cfm

Also, does anyone know what the negative effects would be of vaccuming your speakers and not first letting the panels discharge? Now that I have my TV running through the HT bypass mode they are never turned off.
 

twich54

Forum Administrator
Moderator
Joined
Nov 25, 2005
Messages
6,590
Reaction score
24
Location
SE Pa
Joey_V said:
Dave,

You vacuum your Vantages now? Arent yours just about as old as my Summits? Maybe I need to start vacumming too.... :( .
Joey, I got in the practice of doing once a month from the get-go.
 
C

cmescia

Guest
i thought the discharge issue was just if you were going inside to muck around with the electronics/corssover. I dont discharge my panel when I vaccuum.....would there be less charge and then an easier force needed to pull the dust off?

or does the plug-in or not issue not matter?

Cm
 

David Prall

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 3, 2006
Messages
123
Reaction score
0
Sugar...

I'm not certain, but I would guess that you would find it hard to convince the panels to give up the dust if the were still charged and thus "attracting" it. If there's a deeper reason than that, I'm sure one of the more experienced folks here will chime in. :D
 

roberto

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 1, 2005
Messages
3,179
Reaction score
40
Location
San Jose, Costa Rica
with the aid of a good paint brush...

Hola chicos...well what I do is with the help of a good quality of a paint brush made of any animal hair, I scrub the panel with the brush while holding with the other hand the hose of the vacuum cleaner with no attachment. This way I´m sure that the dust and debris will not get back to the stat panel. Perhaps this might help to some of you...happy listening,
Roberto.
 

attyonline

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 3, 2005
Messages
350
Reaction score
1
David Prall said:
Sugar...

I'm not certain, but I would guess that you would find it hard to convince the panels to give up the dust if the were still charged and thus "attracting" it. If there's a deeper reason than that, I'm sure one of the more experienced folks here will chime in. :D
You're right on the money Dave.
 

amey01

Well-known member
Joined
May 22, 2005
Messages
5,002
Reaction score
22
Location
Queensland, Australia
JonFo said:
I really like the Dyson vacs. They really suck ;)

Seriously, they get the crud off the panels pronto.

I use a Dyson vac too with no attachment - just my hand between the nozzle and the panel.
 
Top