Anyone Using Atma Sphere amps

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stesom

Reaction score
I am going all tube and now comes the amp upgrade. I really like the way the atma sphere amps are built and love that they are all triode OTL class A amps. Just wondering how they will handle the impedence swings of the ML Summits or for that matter any of the ML panels.

Otherwise, since the rest of my system is ARC, I could go that way, but transformers scare me for some unexplained reason :( .

I spoke with Ralph Karsten yesterday. He said ML or any electrostatic will be no problem for his amps. He went into why buy I'm not that technical to explain why though. I was going to post this thread....how weird is that? Anyone have any thoughts?? I'm also interested in the preamps.

FWIW -

The new ARC Ref series amps sound magnificent on MLs - the best I've ever heard. You should audition one before making your choice.

I spoke to Ralph in the past, maybe a bit over two years ago, concerning a pair if MA1 MK2's for sale in my area. He suggested that although the amplifiers would be a good match for my reQuests, their nominal impedance was a bit on the low side to keep an OTL amp happy. The solution was a pair of "Zero" matching transformers (or autoformer as often called) which would raise the speakers impedance for best performance. Odd that you would need a to purchase transformers for use with an output transformer LESS amp, but thats how the conversation went. Do a goog on zero autoformers to dig up more info.
Tj