Aeon i Question

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

phurley

Reaction score
I'm a newbie on this forum. This is my first post.
I've owned my Aeon i speakers for around 10 years, and I've been very happy with them. But recently the woofers in both speakers have been producing a buzzing sound at moderately high sound levels. This is not a hum, but a crackling sound as if the voice coils were rubbing against the magnet assembly. But there is nothing wrong with the drivers themselves. The problem occurs regardless of whether the speakers are plugged into the wall outlet, and regardless of the amp or original sound source. The problem even occurs if I disconnect a woofer and attach a separate speaker to the crossover. Then the buzzing sound comes from the separate speaker. This strongly suggests that the crossover is at fault. But there are only two components in the woofer crossover: a capacitor and an inductor. Could the capacitor be at fault?
I contacted ML tech support, and Brian Bailey replied to my question. He pointed out that the crossovers are not active (which I knew already), so how could they be producing any buzzing sound? But he was kind enough to send schematics and other info for the speakers.
Has anybody out there in ML land encountered any such problem? If so, please help!

That is a very strange issue, I would open up the back of the speaker and make sure you don't have a wire touching something it shouldn't.

Try bypassing the passive crossover and run the woofer full range and see if the problem persists. This won't sound any good but it will rule out any passive components.

That is a very strange issue, I would open up the back of the speaker and make sure you don't have a wire touching something it shouldn't.