Thoughts on iPod as a hi-fi input?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

max157

Reaction score
Hello!

Just wonder how people think about iPod or other MP3 players as source of input to their stereo system. My system consists of B&K Ref 50 pre-amp and 200.7 amp with ML Ascent i’s and Descent sub. I also have a Denon 3910 as a DVD/CD player but it’s a single disc player and I’m too lazy to change out CD when it’s done playing :eek: . IMHO, the sound quality of my iPod is the same as my CD player. But since I’m new to the hi-fi arena, I wanted to see what other people thoughts on the matter.

Thanks,
Max

I don't use an iPod, but I do have my PC hooked up so I can play Rhapsody Streaming Audio out the stereo. Since it is streaming and not the greatest quality, like MP3's, it is still nice to be able to listen to some alternate music without having commercials - like the radio.

I use a product called Hi-Fi Link which uses USB->RCA->Stereo Input instead of coming off the sound card.

Dan

iPods are great! They have wonderful form and function. Though MP3's sound compressd IMHO, I recently read somewhere that they are now accepting more file formats which supposedly loose less digital data from the original source.... (Flacc??)

I also read that Musical Fidelity is including with the A3.5 Series a, "3.5mm stereo jack plug to two RCA plug audio lead (1metre) for accessory connection to iPod." So it seems to be catching on with Audio Manufacturers as a direction of the future.

For me, I only use my iPod when I'm away from the house...usually to and from work on the subway and bus.

As for the accessiblity of 1,000's of songs that you're probably looking for, I use my Powerbook, and stream from my "Airport Express" into the stereo. Works like a charm, but for me, it's still no match next to a good CD.