Woofer/Subwoofer Volume

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

Panel/Woofer/Subwoofer Volume Relationships

HI All,
I would like to start a general discussion about the subject of this thread. I have a lot of years of experience with subwoofers both with my CLS's and other panel speakers going back to about 1975. I have learned some important things. I want to pass this knowledge along.

I'm going to talk primarily about separate subwoofers in a music system, not HT. To a degree, the discussion also applies to ML hybrid designs.

The relative volume setting between the subs and the panels is critical and variable. There is no single setting that works for all recordings. In fact I will go so far to say the relationship changes for every record or CD and often from track to track. Remember, many recordings are made in multiple studios and with a collection of different engineers.

Getting the relationship right is critical to a satisfying musical balance. Further, your personal tastes often will determine the correct settings. These may be different from what the recording engineer had in mind when the recording was mixed. IOW, what YOU think is right, in your room, on your system, is the most important consideration. There is absolutely no reason to tie your sound to the engineer’s ideas.