Recommendations for Martin Logan Source

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

earthling211

Reaction score
ello experts, I am a noob when it comes to hifi audio and will appreciate your help in answering some of my questions.

I am considering buying the martin logan sources ~$700/each + pioneer vsx 1120 to drive them. My questions are

1) Can the pioneer drive these speakers? I have read comments on this forum that you would need to buy Emotiva XPA3 or similar in addition to the pioneer amp
2) What would be a good center channel that will match the sources?
3) Will buying any 10-12" sub fill the room? or would I need to buy a martin logan sub to match the speakers? My local magnolia rep told me that subs aren't that important for matching and I can buy any sub that fits my budget

Thanks in advance for your help. Happy holidays

ello experts, I am a noob when it comes to hifi audio and will appreciate your help in answering some of my questions.

I am considering buying the martin logan sources ~$700/each + pioneer vsx 1120 to drive them. My questions are

1) Can the pioneer drive these speakers? I have read comments on this forum that you would need to buy Emotiva XPA3 or similar in addition to the pioneer amp
2) What would be a good center channel that will match the sources?
3) Will buying any 10-12" sub fill the room? or would I need to buy a martin logan sub to match the speakers? My local magnolia rep told me that subs aren't that important for matching and I can buy any sub that fits my budget

Thanks in advance for your help. Happy holidays

I'm driving my Sources with a Pioneer Elite SC-37. The answer is that it will drive the speakers, but due to their impedance swing, if you try to push it too hard you can burn out your amp and/or damage your speakers. Which is a basic truism to every audio setup.