ML Summit X's not matched??

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ted_b

Reaction score
I am new to this fine forum, and have always loved ML's ever since hearing Monoliths in my local N OH dealer many moons ago . I am toying with getting a smaller pair for my 2 channel-only family room...but I am concerned about one thing in particular.

I have a good buddy in FL who just bought a pair of Summit X's (and convinced his buddy/neighbor to do the same). He likes the sound so far (breaking them in, of course) and was beginning the owners process by filling out the registration. Lo and behold, his two Summit X's are from different pairs, numbers like 6Dxx18 and 6Eyy31 (i.e each speaker is not numerically sequential and each box mentions another speaker, like 6Dxx19, that should be part of its match...seems normal). As he realized this (likely switched somewhere in the process, and now another owner has likely the mismatched mirrored pair too) he called ML. They told him that the speakers are NOT matched, they are tested individually (???) and the numbering process is just to keep finishes and wood types straight! Really?? Not matched?? I know that no two speakers (especially the crossover electronics) are not alike, and even subtle differences need to be accounted for. This is true at very hi levels of production quality, in any industry.

I'm less inclined to go this route if this is true, but I wanted to post here first. Maybe the ML sales/CS guy was having a bad day? Maybe the speakers are so incredibly well produced that ALL of them match to within mirrored specs? If so, why the instructions on the box that "this speaker is matched with ...." ? Seems this would be confusing, tough to track within ML systems, and make any resale quite problematic. Thanks for the help or opinion.
Ted