Will Vantages work well with Ayre/Krell/Synergistic Research?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vantageman

Reaction score
Hi guys,

Yeah, I'm a newbie on the site, but not to hi-end audio. I am considering buying a demo pair of Vantages (maybe as early as tomorrow) and was hoping for inputs on system compatibility (quickly!).

My 2-channel system:

VPI TNT 3 with JMW12 arm and Grado Statement "The Reference" cartridge
Ayre CX-7e CDP
Ayre K-1xe preamp
Krell FPB600C amp
All Synergistic Research power cords & TeslaPlex receptacle
AQ Niagara and Synergistic Research Accelerator XLR ICs
Synergistic Research Precision Reference speaker cables

Right now, I am using Thiel CS5i speakers, but I think I am ready for a change. A good friend of mine (had Vantages and just traded up to Summit X) tells me he thinks my Krell FPB600c amp may not mate up well with the Vantages. He has not heard my system (lives in NY) and is not very familiar with Krell and is probably judging from what he read a long time ago about the KSA series being a little hot in the highs.

I would greatly appreciate some feedback from those using (or have used) hi-quality solid state equipment with Vantages or other ML speakers. Even better would be those having heard them with Krell, Ayre, and/or Synergistic Research, but all your feedback is appreciated.

Thanks.

BTW - my room is 14.5 ft X 23 ft X 10 ft with carpeted floor and the walls are untreated. Any input on placement/toe in/room treatments would also be great.

Last edited:
First off....welcome !

As far as the 'work or not' ...only your ears will let you know that, but having had Vantages (and loved them) they are relatively easy to drive and quite compatible with ALOT of amplification.

No, I'm afraid it's gonna sound like crap, sorry ;)