New owner of Quests

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danman

Reaction score
Well, I did not have my Aerius's very long (4 months) and now got a great deal on mint Quests 1992 from a friend that upgraded to Summits. They are in pristine condition with no blemishes or scratches anywhere. The panels are 4 years old so no problem there.

Ended up only paying 600$ difference after selling the others! The bass is much better and the whole sound overall is upgraded.

Anything I should know about these speakers from owners? I am getting them Thursday night and any advice would be appreciated. By the way they are 1992 and have been modified by the local dealer to actively switch on with music sensing power supply.

OK as a former owner of them. I have some knowledge first hand! ;) Dont be afraid to play with the tilt forward, even if you have to use weights to secure them. They love a big amp with gobs of current.

Here is a thread how I modded mine to sound even better.

http://www.martinloganowners.com/forum/showthread.php?t=5697&highlight=a+quest+to+be+different
There are endless amounts to tweak with them as they can be bi amped with the internal pasive x -over with the built in switch. They can be made to actively crossover with a separate Krell KBX or a Bryston 10 b by swapping 3 wire positions on the board.

Lowering the panels and opening up the bass sections was amazing to say the least. It made them sound so much better. It is not a mod for the weak minded.

I have sold and installed several Quest speakers (way back when I was selling gear in the early/mid 90's), but have never had to live with them in my home. That being said, the most important thing with Logans having such large panels is to give them a$$-loads of space to the rear and sides. Use plants/tapestries/diffuser panels to scatter the rear wave if possible.