Plinius Tautoro Preamp?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joey_V

Reaction score
Anyone here with experience with this preamp? I was wondering how it is and if anyone has heard it against the Cary 05, that would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Joey

http://www.audioenz.co.nz/2007/plinius_tautoro.shtml

Usual succinct review from Audioenz the New Zealand forum. As stated in the review the Tautoro is a lightly reworked M8 and Koru in the single package. I have no experience with the Tautoro but if Michael Wong's call regarding the midrange is correct i.e. lean compared to the M8 I would find it recessed.

We have had the M8 for several years and have played around with it in quite a few configurations and my call would be towards neutral rather than warm.

Kevin

http://www.audioenz.co.nz/2007/plinius_tautoro.shtmlWe have had the M8 for several years and have played around with it in quite a few configurations and my call would be towards neutral rather than warm.

My sentiments precisely on the M8.

For what it's worth, the person from whom I bought the M8 replaced it with the Tautoro. Just a couple of weeks ago, I noticed he was trying to sell the Tautoro. Given the general quality of Plinius gear, it would be difficult to imagine that the sale was prompted by dissatisfaction.

So your Cary's taken a "dump" and you want to go from valves to SS? As good as the Plinius probably is (I've never heard it), I think valve preamps are the way to go...

No, he just faked that so he could get his next fix. Joey's hankering for his next upgrade. God, it's been months since his last one. :D

Come on, Joey. You can do better than the Tautoro. Try a CJ or ARC or BAT. Pass makes a nice solid state one, as does Roger Sanders. Just take a listen. You don't have to buy . . .

Last edited: