What do you guys think of cap upgrades!

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

asindc

Reaction score
I'm thinking of buying a Cary SLP-2002 preamp. There is scant information about this preamp online, but what little discussion there is, many guys have talked about having done cap upgrades. Some have compared the difference in sound to what you might experience with tube rolling.

I'm interested to hear from those who have done it, or at least considered it. Is this something relatively easy to do yourself, or would you recommend a factory upgrade? I'm not very tech savvy when it comes to the guts of my system, I just know what sounds good to me.

Last edited:
I upgraded the electolytic caps in my DAC to Black Gates, and they made a huge difference, i.e. improvement. I also upgraded the single electrolytic cap in each of my SL3s, and so far I hear no difference.

One problem I have found with doing some upgrades is the lack of room on some boards, i.e. the components are too close together. So before you even order the caps you have to make sure that they will physically fit. When it comes to replacing electrolytics you have to make sure that the voltage rating is right, and that if they are polarised you have them in the right orientation. In general if you are not tech savvy I would suggest leaving it to a technician.

I have also upgraded caps in my preamps and in the low-level parts of power amps.

Beware:
1. This can be a very expensive process, depending upon the caps chosen, their values and how many are going to be replaced. Not very hard to run up a cap bill of more than $500, fast.

2. Hard to know what caps will sound the best, you'll often end up taking others' advice because it is difficult to test various caps yourself (expense, time, etc.).