Aerius i and AV receiver

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tubeing

Reaction score
First of all, hi to everybody. I'm starting to build a new AV/audio system (mostly audio material + HT once or twice a week) for my new home and some days ago I was enchanted by the sound of a pair of Vista...
my ears are quite "trained" (I'm a musician too) but I never heard something like that detail, articulation, clarity etc etc...
So I started to look for something used (here in italy prices are very very very high for things like ML...) and I found some Aerius' i. I'll go to a listening session within a few days (Aerius i + Cinema i + Sunfire amp/prepro) but I have some questions for you:
1- my budget (and the prices here in italy) doesn't allow me to buy an AV receiver for HT and a "real" hi-fi amp for stereo material, at least not now...
so I'm thinking to buy an AV amp (probably Onkyo 805) to feed all the speakers (even if they goes down to 1.7Ohm @ 20KHz).
Could it be a good choice (waiting for a krell or something like this for "serious" stereo reproduction)?
2- I'm looking also for prepro/amp combo, but I'm not shure this is the moment to buy a prepro with all this new HD standards evolving all the time. Here in italy , the combo is a very uncommon choice and there is a very limited market also...suggestion/hints?

I'm going to put all the stuff in a 36mq room (probably I'll use some bookcases to divide the space into two smaller rooms) with wooden ceiling and bricks' walls. The ceiling is angled, starting from 1.2m to 3.5m ca (highest point).
Thanks in advance and sorry or my poor english!:p
Stefano