Very new to Martin Logans

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jobo

Reaction score
I just found out about and listened to some Martin Logans a couple days ago. Now I want a whole ML setup. :D I am an amateur/newbie in the world of audio and audio equipment, to say the least, but wanted to get some feedback on what I want to do. So any suggestions, comments, corrections, etc. are most welcome.

I am setting up a theater room. The purpose of the room will be to show slideshows, video, and images to clients (and the occasional HD/Blue ray movie). I want the audio to be exceptional. Music will be playing to the slideshows/presentations. I have a Sony HD projector (1080p) and a fixed screen that runs wall to wall.

I want the clients to have a wonderful audio/visual experience but I am not certain on what exactly I want/need for a setup, and I am much more ignorant when it comes to the other components needed to run this setup (i.e. amps, receiver, wires, and anything else I may need). Besides the essential things needed to run this equipment, I need my receiver to input/output DVI, HDMI, and VGA. I will occasionally need to connect a laptop on the fly to show clients their images, slideshows, presentations, etc., so a DVI/VGA video connection is essential, as well as the audio input/output from the computer.

Do I need/want a 5.1 setup? I'm guessing yes, but not sure. What setups can I or should I go with? I was considering getting a center (not sure which one), 2 Clarity speakers for the fronts and not sure which for rears. But reading a bit more it seems like the Summits are noticeably better. But do you think I need to spend the extra money on the summits?

I was thinking of these two setups:

High End - I was thinking that the “ideal” system would be:
Center: Stage
Fronts: Summit
Rears: Not really sure???