Arcade Fire / Neon Bible

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gordon Gray

Reaction score
Artist: Arcade Fire
Title: Neon Bible
Released: 2006
Record Label: Merge 285
Genre: Rock / Pop

This is the TAS / Issue 171 (April May 2007) Recording of the Issue. This is one of the most original, but approachable rock CD's I have experienced in quite a few years. I have never heard of this band before so when I first began to listen, I expected to listen to a few cuts, as I do with most new material, to get accustomed to a new sound, and then come back to it for further listening. Not so with this one. Grabbed me from the opening and, before I knew it, I was listening to the last cut.

I've never written a music review before so I will provide a few quotes from the TAS review.

"It is the sound of seven young Canadians reacting to the dire situations and freedom - removing exploits surrounding them, and using music reflection, and soul to sort it out. Holding listeners at attention from start to finish, and boasting an on-the-floor production that reflects the dimensions of its recordings locals, its pure pop brilliance."

"The band casts its gaze outward, complimenting its lyrics with surging orch-pop arrangments that convey immediate danger, frisky wonder, and emotional apprehension with all the fervor, catharsis, and spectacle of a stranger in a stangers land's final shot at salvation. Accordingly, the shiver induced sonics add to this atmosphere: musical plumes reverberate and decay; soundstages feature superb depth, height, and extension; mistakes are preserved; analog warmth dominates; the potency of a 30 piece military choir is matched only by the monstrous swell on an organ captured in a Catholic church."