Dynamic Range and Power Claims

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SugarMedia

Reaction score
Interesting read. See the attached .pdf file.
Souce: Musical Fidelity

Attachments

• technical.pdf
    30.7 KB · Views: 227
That is an interesting read. What they are saying makes sense to me, but I am no electrical engineer so am not in a position to challenge it. It does fit nicely into some of the discussions we have occasionally about dynamic headroom in an amplifier and the need for higher wattage to obtain true to life dynamics. I have always been a proponent of going with higher wattage to have enough power for dynamic transients.

I know some on this forum have expressed a pretty strong feeling that lower wattage amps sound better, all other things being equal. I wonder if that better sound isn't really the result of a sonically pleasing but nonetheless inaccurate amount of even-order harmonic distortion caused by soft clipping. Or is it really that a simpler circuit just sounds "better" than a more complex circuit, even if it can't reproduce dynamic transients as accurately. I'm sure opinions will vary dramatically on this issue, and ultimately all that matters is that you like the sound of the amp combined with your speakers.

Depends on how loud you want to listen to your tunes. :)

Yes, I think that is part of it. I personally like to listen pretty loud. I find that (within reason) the more I turn up the volume the better the music sounds on my Logans. Especially if I am trying to recreate the feel of a live event, there is a need for a certain dbl level. Obviously, another factor is the sensitivity of the speaker. Some speakers just need more watts to achieve the same output level.