Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: Help: Aeon i panels dropping in volume after a few minutes.

  1. #1
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default Help: Aeon i panels dropping in volume after a few minutes.

    I have just bought these a week ago & they have been in storage several years.

    They reduce in volume gradually over about 5 minutes, down to a level where the bass driver over dominates the sound, they sound "muffled".

    If I switch them off & back on again they "reset" to "normal".

    I don't know if this is relevant but the LEDs don't come on at all.

    Any ideas how to remedy the problem?

  2. #2
    Member Scumurculum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    East Coast of the Antipodes
    Posts
    246

    Default

    If it was one speaker, I would have thought the issue would have been the power supply to the panel in the speaker.

    Given the issue is with both speakers, and is identical, I have doubts the issue is with the speakers.

    I wonder if the issue is with your amp, maybe it cannot handle the load of the panels.

    What are you running?
    Last edited by Scumurculum; 09-30-2017 at 03:48 PM.

  3. #3
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scumurculum View Post
    If it was one speaker, I would have thought the issue would have been the power supply to the panel in the speaker.

    Given the issue is with both speakers, and is identical, I have doubts the issue is with the speakers.

    I wonder if the issue is with your amp, maybe it cannot handle the load of the panels.

    What are you running?
    An Audiolab 8000A

  4. #4
    Member Scumurculum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    East Coast of the Antipodes
    Posts
    246

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vinyl Score View Post
    An Audiolab 8000A
    A small 25 years old amp. That might be your problem.

    You should try to borrow another amp to see if the problem is recreated.

  5. #5
    MLO owner/operator TomDac's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Rancho Mirage, California
    Posts
    3,335

    Default

    It sounds as if the signal sensing circuit of the ML's is cutting power to the panels. Not familiar with your amp, but this could be the culprit. Try using a stopwatch to record the time the panels go dead. If it continues to be the same time (5 or 6 minutes usually), then that would make sense. My Summits did this with a Class D amp.
    Tom D'Acquisto
    MartinLoganOwners.com owner/operator
    ML Owner from 1988 to 2015 (Sequels, reQuests, Summits, Cinema)
    Currently MartinLoganless
    CL
    ick HERE to see my ML systems of the past.


    Click here to see how you can help support this site!

  6. #6
    Super User roberto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    San Jose, Costa Rica
    Posts
    2,887

    Default

    Hola. To me, you have bad power supplies at both speakers. The power supplies might work at the beginning, but with a leaking capacitors or leaking diodes at the multiplier voltage could be the problem too. You should address your question direct to the Martin Logan service department. Or just give to them a call. They will help you to track the problem easy.

    Ask for Mr. Scott Gribble. He is a very knowledge and handy person, or send to him an email: sgribble@martinlogan.com
    CLX, Stage X and Motion 4 BF-210, Summits in second system. Conrad Johnson Classic One Twenty SE poweramp, ET-7 Conrad Johnson pre, Exasound E-32 DAC, Shun Mook products, Nordost and DHLabs cables. Anthem AVM-60 audio and video processor. Anthem MCA-325 center and surround power amp. BPT Signature 3.5 Plus Balanced Line Power Conditioner.

  7. #7
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Scumurculum View Post
    A small 25 years old amp. That might be your problem.

    You should try to borrow another amp to see if the problem is recreated.
    I tried a 85W amp too (TEAC) it did the same. Do you think I need a much higher powered amp?

  8. #8
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by TomDac View Post
    It sounds as if the signal sensing circuit of the ML's is cutting power to the panels. Not familiar with your amp, but this could be the culprit. Try using a stopwatch to record the time the panels go dead. If it continues to be the same time (5 or 6 minutes usually), then that would make sense. My Summits did this with a Class D amp.
    They don't go dead, just drop to about half the amplitude after a few minutes. How powerful was your Class D amp?

  9. #9
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roberto View Post
    Hola. To me, you have bad power supplies at both speakers. The power supplies might work at the beginning, but with a leaking capacitors or leaking diodes at the multiplier voltage could be the problem too. You should address your question direct to the Martin Logan service department. Or just give to them a call. They will help you to track the problem easy.

    Ask for Mr. Scott Gribble. He is a very knowledge and handy person, or send to him an email: sgribble@martinlogan.com
    This sounds like a likely scenario.

  10. #10
    Super User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vinyl Score View Post
    I don't know if this is relevant but the LEDs don't come on at all.
    This is the best clue.

    Are your Aeons grey market imports to England? What does the manf label say? 120V 60Hz or 220V 50Hz? There's an explanation on Diyaudio.com of how 50Hz AC cycle is not quite sufficient for keeping the HV going, by design...

    Here it is:
    http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/plana...ml#post5087861
    Last edited by Tosh; 10-03-2017 at 12:46 PM.

  11. #11
    Newbie
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    England
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tosh View Post
    This is the best clue.

    Are your Aeons grey market imports to England? What does the manf label say? 120V 60Hz or 220V 50Hz? There's an explanation on Diyaudio.com of how 50Hz AC cycle is not quite sufficient for keeping the HV going, by design...

    Here it is:
    http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/plana...ml#post5087861
    120V 60Hz

    Are you a member of Diyaudio.com? If so could you possibly copy across those images for me, please?

  12. #12
    Super User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    569

    Default

    Does this work? (I don't know why it's getting attached so small...)
    If you have any doubts then please become a diyaudio member, and ask member 'bolserst' for advice, as he's very helpful and an invaluable ESL resource.
    Attached Images Attached Images  
    Last edited by Tosh; 10-06-2017 at 02:19 PM.

  13. #13
    Super User
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley
    Posts
    569

    Default

    let's try again
    not working, can't make them normal sized...
    I give up.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •