Aerius active crossover and more project

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SHKnapp

Reaction score
I'm just getting started on reconditioning and upgrading my first pair of Martin Logan speakers. I bought them used in 1999. Up until a few months ago I was using them as rears in a 5.1 setup. I was going to sell them, but I decided I wanted a vintage 2ch setu... I always wanted to run them with tubes. I decided to shower the panels, so I took them apart. My current plan is to bi-amp them. One Marantz 8b as a monoblock for each speakers panel and a Marantz 300DC in stereo for each woofer. I'd like to bypass the passive crossover to get the most out of the amps.

Recommendation on active crossovers? Analogue or digital?
Should I do a woofer upgrade while I'm in there?
Any other mods I should consider?

Thanks for the help... I'll post pics of my progress!
Spencer

Last edited:
Nice sounding project there Spencer. I'll definitely be in the cheering section as you go through this one.

On crossovers, I've tried them all, and can categorically state that a good DSP-based unit is the way to go, as you will need to tweak a lot to get the panel / woofer / room blend just right.

The unit I recommend you look very closely at is the DBX DriveRack Venu360 as it is a an incredibly reliable unit, super clean sounding and has all the features (and more) that you need for this project.
I've been using various DriveRacks for 16 years and they are complete workhorses and totally silent. My 4800 has been constantly on for 9 years now.