Upgrading System Montis or Summit Perhaps?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

L101

Reaction score
Greetings!
I am a beginner into the world of hifi but have spent a lot of time reading and planning my somewhat low budget (by hifi standards) setup. Any advice is welcomed!!

I have begun upgrading my system over the last few months and now I am at the point of selecting my new speakers. I currently own a pair of the entry level Electromotions. Though these are ok speakers I find them to get somewhat too sharp and abrasive in the upper mids and lower highs. This is especially evident when playing music That "gets busy" in that range. My musical interests definitely cover some ground. I listen to a good bit of "Album Rock" such as Yes, Pink Floyd etc. I also enjoy listening to jazz, blues and music that features female vocalists. Another genre you'll see in my collection is a fair amount of Classical music especially violin concertos and music featuring harpsichord. I just love that plucked string sound!

For the most part I love the electrostatic panels but at least with the lower end Electromotions, the overerly bright, edgy sound can be fatiguing. My question is a simple one. Will upgrading to a speaker such as the Montis or possibly the Summit soften and warm up the mids particularly the upper mids and lower highs? Or should I perhaps look at another speaker besides electrostatics.

My Room:
18ft x 12ft with 8ft ceilings
GIK TriTraps floor to ceiling in corners
GIK Quadratic Diffussors behind speakers
Alternating GIK Quadratic Diffussors and GIK 2" Absorbers on side walls
GIK Quadratic Diffussors on back wall.

My gear:
PrimaLuna Dialogue 7 monoblocks
PrimaLuna Dialogue Premium Preamp
Sony HAP Z1es (DSD/FLAC) Player
Martin Logan Electromotions
REL T9i Sub (splits duty with LFE for HT)
Blue Jean Cables and Interconnects