Anyone willing to try to stack rank every speaker ML has produced?

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ElectroNoob

Reaction score
I'm new to MartinLogan and the only speakers I've heard are my Electromotion and the Motion 10 (I bought for me dad). I know it's not an exact science but I was wondering if someone(s) who had a lot of experience listening to different ML speakers can try to put them in order of performance relative to each other. I am really curious to see how newer mid/low range product compare to the older high end products. I think this would be very helpful for people who are looking to buy ML speakers on the used market.

Thanks,

EB

While I've heard most of the ML line ever produced, I'd not want to even try to rank them other than in vague generalities.

For one, because an audition at a dealer or trade show is in no way sufficient to truly assess performance. Likewise an in-home audition, as many setups are compromised by room and other constraints.
Heck, my own system has been in the exact same dedicated custom designed (for them) room for 16 years and it sounds ridiculously different today than it did when I first plopped them in the room. Thanks to massive changes in crossovers (went active), woofers (upgraded twice), amps, and most importantly: room treatments (as well as Room Correction in the pre-pro), the level of performance of the speakers is vastly different now.