New Sequel ll owner

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aburnham2

Reaction score
Hi All, I'm a retired electronic technician living in Maine. Music, equipment, reading, sailing, and cooking for hobbies (all on a budget). I bought a pair of Sequel lls from their second owner they looked and sounded good (cheap $450 for the pair). Needed woofers right away so found a pair that had similar specs and installed them. Sounds good so far. Then I read threads on this forum for Sequels and decided to replace the capacitors in the crossovers. Kudos to the forum for keeping all this stuff available, and KennyG (2007) posts on crossovers. The difference is hard to believe, and wonderful. I called Martin Logan and WOW great company, told me my date of manufacture was 1993 and that I could order newly manufactured ESL panels for $654 each. They would have all the latest in materials and techniques. Sounds like a bargain to me but I think my Sequels sound great now despite their age, comparison is Klipsch Quartets with upgraded crossovers. Klipsches are different of course but the Sequels are so spacious. As I am not wealthy I'm running the Sequels with a very old but wonderful Denon PMA-550. Glad to be aboard. Thanks all. Alan Burnham, Listening to Beethoven's 9th now ecstasy.

Hi Alan,

I'm an original owner of a pair of Sequel IIs from 1990 and within the past few years I've replaced the woofer and caps (Clarity Cap) with very good results. I've also replaced the stat panels and if yours are the originals I highly recommend doing so, budget permitting. Just keep in mind that they'll be more revealing of what's upstream (sources and gear) which can be a double-edged sword. The good gets better and... you know how it goes.

Bob Fey
Orange CA