Subjective vs. Objective

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RCHeliGuy

MLO Supporter
Reaction score
I've seen 'S' and 'O' thrown around a lot lately.

I thought I might explain a few of my thoughts about this in what I hope is a clear and very non-confrontational way.

My wife is a psychologist and I'm an engineer. I've read a lot on this subject because I find it fascinating. As an aside I credit my wife with much of my success in business because of her insights on what drives people.

People are subjective by nature. None of us can truly claim to be objective about anything.

We are so incredibly subjective about everything that is is very difficult to separate what is real from what isn't. That is all of us including me. I am not taking any moral high ground here or claiming I'm different or better than anyone else.

Getting back to audio, your brain is fooled by your stereo to reconstruct a sound stage that doesn't exist.

You know that you have 2 speakers. I can count them. You can count them.

Yet you can close your eyes and pick out instruments in varying positions that can sound like they are in between and even outside the width of your speakers.

There is subtle phasing detail in a well recorded and mastered music signal that your brain interprets as positional information. This is very cool and we like it!