Replacing Caps in Aerius Speakers

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

neville

Reaction score
Hoping someone may be able to help

Ive just had the caps in my dac upgraded and amongst other this have had vcaps installed.

After about close on 300hrs burn in am absolutely staggered what these caps have done to the sound, considering how little money this costs in the scheme off things. So being the kinda guy who can never leave well enough alone, i got to thinking, what about the speakers.

So, anyone done this? anyone done this with vcaps? can you tell me the values of the vcaps i should be looking at, in fact any help would be appreciated. I am a complete novice at this, so will likely involve someone who actually knows what there doing to carry out the work, i just need to know what i should be buying first.

Thanks for you assistance in anticiaption

If it's for the crossover, then the capacitance values should be the SAME values as before, and their voltage ratings should be the same, or higher.

I don't know whether you ever finish your crossover but I just finished replacing the Solen capacitors in the crossovers for my CLX.

I don't know the values in the Aerius so I cannot help with that, but Tosh is correct, use the same values as you replace.

I paralleled Vcap OIMP to make the value and bypassed with 0.1uF CuTF. Before installing I burnt them in for 2 weeks in a test jig and a further 2 weeks connected to a receiver once re-installed in the CLXs.

You need to be aware that the Vcaps will likely take up much more space than the existing capacitors, mechanical stability and vibration control will be important.

To say the sound has improved would be an understatement, like 25 year old Macallan compared to (you choose)

I still have more work to do but once complete I will post the build project along with pictures