Theos or Used Vantage

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

macallan

Reaction score
Just had a chance to listen to the Theos and was impressed. I also heard the Montis and they actually sounded worse due to the small room. I would have liked to listen to the Ethos but they did not have them. Has anyone compared the Theos to the Vantage? These would be comparable cost wise.

Just had a chance to listen to the Theos and was impressed. I also heard the Montis and they actually sounded worse due to the small room. I would have liked to listen to the Ethos but they did not have them. Has anyone compared the Theos to the Vantage? These would be comparable cost wise.

I am no expert in Martin Logan, but I do have a few comments on this topic.

1. Used ESL is a problem. They tend to me damaged in transport, and they do not age to well. In this regard I believe that ML is better than Quad (I have had some issues with my Quad ESL 63 for instance). If you purchase used loudspeakers, just ale sure they are used well - and be prepared to some repair costs (and calendar time to get them repaired - I waited 7 months to get new panels to my Quads...)

2. ML has become an alternative to the real ESL players the last 10 years or so. In my opinion, ML was very far behind the leaders in the 90ties. The ML back then was horrible compared to other ESL - (but they always looked better..) The hybrid solution did not work very good - and there are even trade in the current models compared to full range ESL.

Hence, be very careful which used ML you purchase due to model and how well they are used.

I recall quite a few posts regarding the 1st generation amplification in the Vantage; not too much positive, but I may be wrong. If you're comparing equally priced models, I think New Theos to used Ethos is a better set of options.