Sub woofer crossover point

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brad225

MLO Supporter
Reaction score
I am working on dialing in my subs after moving both of them to new locations in my listening room.
When I set up the room I just placed the Depth i subs between and behind my CLSIIzs out of convince to get things up and running.
I have gone to the tried and true sub crawl and picked the 2 best locations I found. I was surprised it turned out to be almost centered on the back wall as #1 and almost centered on the left wall for #2. I started playing with settings yesterday and came to the conclusion it is time to purchase a calibrated mic and equipment to see what the room looks like on screen.

I was surprised how much better the full range of sound was with the subs not behind the CLSs. Much cleaner clearer sound imaging seems much less cluttered. It is a case of you don't know what you aren't hearing until you hear something different. Never would have guessed the sound stage was that cluttered.

Anyway my curiosity is where do those of you who have subs cross them over with your mains? I realize this is not only room Dependant but equipment and set up Dependant to say nothing of how much bass you might like.

Right now with my CLSIIZs that are rated down to 35hz, (though I doubt there is much information there) I am crossing my Depth i subs at 30hz (but this is still not etched in stone), previously I had them at 45hz when they were behind the mains.

The phase went from 180 behind mains to 0 in new location.

25hz adjustment went from +1 to -4.

Volume went from 3 to 6.

It is all interesting how much the room changes with speaker movement.

So where do you cross over your sub with what speaker?