Newbie here!

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lowkey37

Reaction score
First of all, hello everyone and thanks for the plethora of info on this site. OK, I think my speaker journey has come to a halt for a while. I recently purchased a pair of Montis and could not be more content! I have a large room 19x45 that the Montis can easily fill with luscious sound. Question-Currently, I am running an Emotiva 3 x 200 watt amp. I have read that many of you are using Krell, Mcintosh and Levinson. What changes in sound characteristics should I expect when I upgrade to a truly hi end amplifier? The reason I ask is I have heard the Montis/Ethos sound good with even a high current reciever. Does this speaker reward you when drastically improving the amp?

Cheers,
Mike

Does this speaker reward you when drastically improving the amp?

Cheers,
Mike

Mike, welcome !

Congrats on The Montis, best damn 10k speaker on the planet IMO. The Montis like any other high end speaker truly benefits from quality amplification and in the case of electrostatics I'll add 'stable amplification' , given their known capacitence traits.

As you can tell by the various member sytems on the board there is no 'one' answer, myself I love both tube and SS !!

Welcome Mike. Emotiva seems to be a hit or miss, you either love em or hate em lol. Same with Krell and having owned two lower line Krell, I have not been happy with the sound (400xi and KAV-250A). I've had luck with Wyred 4 Sound and Musical Fidelity with my Logans (MF A300 really works well A5 has more power but loses some of the "magic", and the W4S sti-500 was really good too and a budget price).

Good choice on the Montis...wish I could afford some of those bad boys!