Marantz v. Emotiva v. Someone else? Need help!

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

J-Mac

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to make my first Martin Logan purchase within the next two months or so. I'm most likely going with a pair of theos for my fronts, a stage for the center, a pair of motion fx2's for the SR's and the descent for the sub. I would like to get the correct power for this system and i am no expert by any means, so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

I really want to do separates but my budget really only allows for me to get in on the entry level. I was thinking at first going with the Marantz AV7005 for my pre and getting the MM7055 for the power. Phone calls to both Martin Logan and Marantz has me a little skeptical about that choice with the 4ohm rating on the ML speakers. A sales rep from Martin Logan told me to check out Emotiva as he had heard good things and it was sufficient power for 4ohm speakers. After some research i'm getting mixed reviews. I was hoping someone on here would be able to make my choice a little more clear for me.

With Emotiva i was looking at the UMC-1 and XPA-5, but the UMC-1 seemed to have a lot of complaints. Further research and then i thought about using the Marantz AV7005 for the pre and the XPA-5 for the power. Does anyone know if the XPA-5 4ohm rating of 300w all channels driven is inflated at all from Emotiva's website? What does anyone think about these options? I'm open to other brands in a similar price range and any suggestions. I really want to place that order for the speakers, but refuse to pull the trigger until i have my power situation figured out. Thanks everyone!

The Marantz AV7005 is a good choice based on what I have read (reviews & comments). I'm planning on getting one too. It's a great blend of technology and quality.