Martin Logan Clarity / Prima Luna Prologue One

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

reverendp

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm very new to high end products.
I'm DJ/Producer, i live in paris france, got tons of records, mostly jazz, soul, funk, & Disco, but only listened to them on "regular" systems

I first listened to Martin Logan's at a friend in NY and was amazed by the sound quality.
Few weeks ago, i found a pair of Martin Logan Claritys on ebay, close to my place,
i thought this would be the most beautiful christmas present i could ever dream off.
I went to listen at the sellers place, brought some Marvin Gaye cds.
I loved the sound and purchased the speakers, he had an audio researsh amp, massive mc intosh preamp, expensive cables...

Of course, back home it did not sound that good on my poor hifi amp.

I started to check online for a good amp to start with
I picked the Primaluna Prologue one whitch had amazing reviews for its price. Shop seller told me they would drive my claritys with no problems due to its strong power supply (this still sounds like hebrew to me)
So i bought it, and there is a better sound now.

STILL, i'm a bit disappointed with the sound of snares, they don't impact me, also, the attack on piano notes seems a bit weak.

I don't know much about room placement, i just made sure the logans were far enough from walls, and that my sweet point would be equidistant from speakers.

The sources i use are : Pioneer CDJ 1000 MK3, Technics sl1210 MK2 (Grado Gold cartridge),

they go through a great hand made mixer the DJR400 (here is the link : http://www.electronique-spectacle.com/djr400.htm) this mixer is recognized by world class djs as the best one, even better than UREI 1620

I use cheap modulation cables,