Review of the DBX DriveRack 260 speaker processor

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TomDac

former MLO owner/operator
Reaction score
Review of the DBX DriveRack 260 speaker processor

Replacing a speaker’s passive crossover with an active unit is generally considered to be a positive step. So I won’t go into why. If you like active’s, then the question becomes: which one?

In my case, I have a pair of Martin Logan Monolith IIIs with passive external crossovers that we’re just not giving me the best results with respect to panel and bass driver integration. Turns out there were two problems. One was my ten year old woofers were beginning to go. But even after replacing those, I felt more could be had from this speaker. Secondly, I started playing around with active crossovers. Using a pro-gear analog crossover, an Ashly XR2002, I got to see just what I had been missing. The sound was vastly improved. The critical low midrange and upper bass now merged better and the overall ‘tightness’ of the bass was improved. The highs were a whole new dimension of clean. For the money (around $300), it was a huge bargain in my book.
However, I’m never satisfied with the status quo, therefore I kept an eye peeled for better units. Then I read up on the DBX DriveRack 260 speaker processor (www.driverack.com). Man, the description light up my eyes and spun my propeller fast!

The premise behind the DriveRack 260 is to meet the demands sound professionals have for setting up and configuring ‘high-end’ speaker and amp rigs in different venues. Therefore it is chock-full of features designed to accommodate almost any combination of drive unit (low/mid/high) pairings and positioning in challenging acoustical environments.