JoLida JD1000RX review

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

slowGEEZR

Reaction score
I put this tube integrated amp into my system two days ago and thought I'd give my impressions of it to the group. I've never written a review before, so don't expect great writing! You can skip to the review, about 3 paragraphs down, if you wish...

First, a little history...Although I've owned my ML's since 1993, I have never thought of myself as a "hard core" audiophile. I put away my vinyl way back in the earyl '80's, as the sound I was getting back then did not compare to what I was getting with CDs. Up until a year ago, I had a rather modest system, consisting of a Yamaha surround receiver, a Denon CD player, a Pioneer Elite CD, DVD, DVD-A, SACD player and the ML Aerius's. I also had (have) various other gear that was (is) not connected in my system. Friends that listened to my system thought it was great and I enjoyed it, too. However, I got the upgrade bug when I listened to a friend's system.

The first upgrade I bought was the Krell 400xi integrated amp. I thought the sound it gave was great; especially for the money! It took control of the MLs in a way that the Yamaha never approached. As they say, the sound was at another level. I then decided to get back into vinyl, as my friend, who owns Apogee Stages, Threshold preamps, Classe amps and a VPI 19 III junior and I enjoyed listening to vinyl on his rig. So, I bought a VPI Scout. I didn't care at the time if the vinyl sounded as good as the digital formats, I just missed the intimacy of vinyl and all that goes with it. I was surprised to find that, with the right vinyl, the sound was great, rivaling what I heard on digital sources and actually sometimes sounding even more real to my ears.