Toobs

MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum

Help Support MartinLogan Audio Owners Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joey_V

Reaction score
I want TOOBS... like seriously, I want tubes!

After hearing just what toobs did to Cherian's Scenarios, I cant stop thinking about toobs.

This sucks man... I was already all content with my setup and I was already all done with upgrading, but I still want to see what my Summits can do with toobs at the helm of it all.

So, I started looking on audiogon and I'm not very familiar with toobs.

I found this Jolida amp (apparently the Jadis are far removed from the poor Joey budget).

1144615936.jpg

http://cls.audiogon.com/cgi-bin/cls.pl?intatube&1163898104

Anyway, I'm not very good with toobs so if you toob-fanatics could help me out, that would be great!

Nothing too expensive... budget is between $1K to 2.5K. $3K is reeeeaaaaally pushing it.

BTW, this wont happen for a few more months.. I'm bleeding dry here! :eek:

(Though not as bad as when I first got the Summits, boy.... the checking account was gushing blood at that time!)

But as I'm sure you've learned in med school "all bleeding stops, eventually." :D

regards
adrian

wipper snapper said:
But as I'm sure you've learned in med school "all bleeding stops, eventually." :D

regards
adrian

Unless you go into hypovolemic shock and die.

:( :D :eek:

Joey,
I would not jump in to a "toob" amp right away. I would upgrade your preamp to a better preamp, a tube preamp, :D and see what that sounds like first. I believe you will be surprised and pleasantly pleased. IMHO, this is the best "bang" for your buck right now. By getting a tube amp, it will change the sound but not as dramatically as a tube preamp. :D:D

Just an opinionated/biased comment
Jeff :cool:

Used tube equipment from a local "take care of you" high-end shop is the way to go.

Some of the shops in your area may even post on Audiogon, mine did.